Many, if not most, first-time DWI offenders have a minimal or no criminal history. Despite this, a drunk driving arrest can be very serious, potentially leading to fines, the loss of your license and even jail. You need a lawyer who can navigate the criminal justice system on your behalf and work toward a positive resolution.
The penalties for a first-offense DWI in Connecticut can include a two-day jail sentence, with a suspended sentence of up to six months, as well as 100 hours of community service and probation. Fines can range from $500 to $1,000, and your license can be suspended for 45 days, with an additional year of driving a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device (IID).
The good news is that Connecticut has an alternative program for qualifying first-time offenders. The Pretrial Alcohol Education Program allows individuals to keep their driving privileges and avoid conviction by meeting certain conditions. These conditions include attendance at weekly meetings and may include substance abuse treatment classes. If you meet the eligibility requirements for this program and successfully complete the program, your charges will be dismissed.
If you qualify for this program, I can help you prepare your application, and I will work to convince the judge and the prosecutor that you deserve fair consideration. If the evidence suggests that you did not commit a crime, or if the prosecutor will have trouble proving some element of the charge, I will explain the weaknesses in the states case so you can make an informed decision on how to proceed.